Login    Register

Link at 10+ PSI ?

For discussion of forced induction issues and the rest of the Muuuhahahaha's
  • Author
    Message

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Steve » Fri, 10 Apr 2009 11:00 +0000

Solid Diff bushings apparently help wheel hop, as do the longatundinal braces you'll see on 1.8 cars.. or you could try not spinning the wheels.. ;-)
Steve
Site Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 10:16 +0000

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Wed, 15 Apr 2009 10:41 +0000

I normally don't spin the wheels at all but I did it just once as I was reading up on the 'wheel hop' issue over on MiataTurbo, it seems my car has the hop also.
I'll check the bushings when I'm working on the diff but I'd say they're shot :thumright:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Sat, 08 Aug 2009 12:36 +0000

FM don't sell the Serial Link Interface cable 'new' anymore to work with the Link ECUs.
Anyone know where I could get one as Fleebay don't have nadda, even a simple wiring diagram of one would do for me.
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby mx5ash » Sat, 08 Aug 2009 8:27 +0000

MIght have what you need dude, give me a shout on the mobile.
Image

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3099765
"When I make a key the on position and push the button, an engine works"
mx5ash
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 2234
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 10:34 +0000
Location: Dungarvan, Co Waterford

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Sat, 08 Aug 2009 4:54 +0000

Thanks Ash, sorted :thumleft:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Wed, 18 May 2011 3:27 +0000

Ok I've been looking at the LINK ECU installation PDF files over on FlyinMiata and I've a few questions.

There are some installation files that show modifying the ECU for air temp/knock/wideband sensors.
The LINK ECU I have doesn't appear to have these 'mods' done to it.

The LINK ECU I have shows on the board 'LINK 1996 MX5 v1.2' and the chip shows '116M0718'. Does it still need to have these mods done to it ?

Also, I've 2 MAP sensors. One is 'new' but looks like the older version of MAP sensor and the other one is the older version. In one of the FlyinMiata installation PDFs it says "The new Mk1 ECU can accommodate knock sensing, but only when used with the Mk2 MAP sensor". Was I given the wrong MAP sensors with the LINK ?
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Steve » Wed, 18 May 2011 3:41 +0000

Not sure abouts which mods you mean, can you quote them.
The knock sensor should plug into the map sensor

Posted via tapatalk
Steve
Site Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 10:16 +0000

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Wed, 18 May 2011 4:48 +0000

It's on page 5 of this "Link mark I installation manual (the new chip, number 116M0718)" http://www.flyinmiata.com/support/instr ... lation.pdf

Does the knock sensor plug into the Map sensor via the diagnostics connector or is there a port on the Map sensor itself for it to plug into ?

There seems to be only one port in the two Map sensors I have and it looks like it's for the vacuum hose from the MAP sensor to the vacuum hose that goes to the factory fuel pressure regulator.
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Steve » Wed, 18 May 2011 10:04 +0000

K, not sure now, mine has a connector plus a map and knock sensor port.


Posted via tapatalk
Steve
Site Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 10:16 +0000

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Wed, 18 May 2011 10:36 +0000

I'm guessing the Map sensor you have is 'rectangular' and not 'square' ?
The two I have are the square ones and have a connector but only one port :(

Damn, now I've to go try and find one :shock:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Sat, 21 May 2011 1:41 +0000

Confirmed :cry:

I was on to Link themselves and they don't have them since they don't make them anymore, plus the fact that they can't access all their stock/materials in their old building since it's been destroyed due to the quake and is now 'off limits'.

There's none on FleaBay this past week and I've had no posts on Nutz or MiataTurbo so I guess there are none available out there.

BUT, I HAVE found the circuit diagram of the PCB but I don't have a parts list. Anyone out there with one that wants to 'open' their one up and take notes of the numbers/digits on all the parts inside ? There's not much in there and if you have one and it fails then.....hop into my boat :shock:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Steve » Tue, 31 May 2011 2:16 +0000

some good info on mk1 vs mk2 link ECUs here :
http://www.miataturbo.net/showthread.php?p=100202
Steve
Site Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 10:16 +0000

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Tue, 31 May 2011 6:32 +0000

Yeah I'll have to do some checking on the Link that I have, it does have the newer Link chip in it though.


I took out the injectors and found that the new ones are a little bit 'different'...

They seem to be 'shorter'.
Image

And the injector nosel seems to be a lot shorter than the old ones.
Image

Tell me this doesn't matter :lol:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Steve » Tue, 31 May 2011 9:32 +0000

no, it shouldn't (mine were different too), you'll prob need a handfull of washers to space out the fuel rail bolts though as they'll be a little too long with the shorter injectors.
Steve
Site Admin

User avatar
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed, 05 Mar 2008 10:16 +0000

Re: Link at 10+ PSI ?

Postby Fergus » Tue, 31 May 2011 11:19 +0000

Thank God :lol:
At least this part is working out ok :lol:
Fergus
*****

User avatar
 
Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 5:53 +0000
Location: Ireland

PreviousNext

Return to Turbo Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron